if you wanna call yourself pansexual, thats fine. youre allowed to self identify any way you want to. but im sooo fucking sick of seeing pansexuals shit on bisexual people and use that “hearts not parts” bullshit to vilify and demonize bisexual people or insinuate that bisexuality is transphobic when bisexuality has literally always included transgender people. be pansexual, thats fine, just dont be fucking biphobic
Finding out that Frances Dana Barker Gage, a white woman, rewrote Sojourner Truth’s famous speech to be more stereotypically “Southern slave” (complete with slurs and misspellings like dat, dere, dey) when Sojourner Truth was actually from New York and spoke only Dutch until she was almost ten and wouldn’t have actually sounded that way linguistically and decidedly did not use the phrase “Ain’t I A Woman?” at all is…whew. And on top of everything, she embellished details about Sojourner Truth’s life (like the number of children she had/how many of them were sold into slavery), wrote that ST said that she could take beatings like a man, and the reception of the speech in the room (she claims ST was called a n*gg*r, earlier accounts say the room was welcoming).
Lmaooo peak white feminist antics.
Ok but source?
I LITERALLY put her name in the first sentence so you could find her. Just like I did the work to read because this wasn’t spoonfed to me.
bi women could be attracted to men and nonbinary people exclusively, and not women, but we’re gonna go ahead and include bi people in WLW spaces just to piss off exclusionist gold star lesbians, thanks.
i’m not a lesbian but ur true self jumped out LMAO also gold star lesbians has nothing to do with this ? put down the crack pipe queen
also awful long winded way of saying a “straight girl can be attracted to men and fetishise nb people” same gender attraction is intrinsic to bisexuality
also y’all: no you cant just say youre “queer” when we ask your gender/orientation, thats a slur not an identity.
what y’all really mean: if youre not lesbian, gay, bi, or trans, or do not identify solely as such, we dont want you in this community.
“Queer”, before being reclaimed by the LGBT community, was indeed as slur. Typically, queer means abnormal or strange, which was exactly why it was used to describe LGBT people; it was used to other us and label us as abnormal. It doesn’t seem very unreasonable that many people, myself included, don’t want to be referred to as queer/have it used as an umbrella term for the community when it carries those connotations.
The idea that our rejection of microlabels is comparable to our aversion of being called a slur and your exaggeration of LGBT people as reactionary and exclusive is, quite frankly, blatantly homophobic and transphobic. It’s disgusting that people like you who say this about the LGBT community at large would want to be a part of it.
Please, log off this website, learn some LGBT history and think before you speak.
not to be r*mantic on main but i deserve to be able to climb onto the roof of an abandoned building and stargaze with someone i love at least once in my life